Free Tool: Project Execution Assessment

Partnering Resources

Our Execution Assessment measures performance along five critical dimensions: Strategic Clarity – How well has the organization defined the strategy? Download a short version of our Execution Capability Assessment now. Image from aeu04117 on flickr.

Beyond Assessment – Recognizing Achievement in a Networked World

Jenny Connected

Jul 11, 2014. ePortfolios and Open Badges are only the first wave in what will emerge as a wider network-based form of assessment that makes tests and reviews unnecessary. Beyond Assessment – Recognizing Achievement in a Networked World. Jul 11, 2014.

Future directions for the Footprints of Emergence framework

Jenny Connected

See for example MOOC Research Initiative Reports from the Gates Foundation funded projects and the proceedings from the European MOOCs Stakeholders Summit 2014 . Our current thinking is that new paradigms such as open learning may require new ways of thinking about assessment. 2014).

2014 170

Evaluating open learning scenarios – keynote presentation

Jenny Connected

Here are the slides and notes for the keynote presentation that Roy Williams and I gave at the E Learning Conference, FH Joanneum, in Graz, Austria, on Wednesday 17 September 2014. I work and publish across several fields: semiotics, critical discourse analysis, epistemology, ecological psychology, politics, narrative, e-learning, e-assessment, knowledge management, synaesthesia, complexity theory, international development, art design & media, and most of all, on open learning.

2014 127

Links of the Month: January 28, 2014

How to Save the World

Predictions for 2014: A very funny, and wise, post by Dmitry Orlov with some predictions , and some predictions about predictions. He then provides an intriguing exercise to assess which type most appeals to you.

2014 75

The Employees’ Wishlist: Three Things Employees Wish Managers Would Do

Partnering Resources

In the last post, I reviewed the leadership behaviors of clarify and connect. Download Taking Care of Your Team to assess your leadership practices. Image by Aitor Aguirregabiria on flickr. Your employees need you. But not in the way you think.

Top teams understand the 4 different types of Teamwork in Nature

The Bumble Bee

To do this they developed a rigourous but practical way to assess whether particular group activities constitute ''teamwork''. Crowdwork has a place in organisational teams such as team review meetings, brainstorming and team social gatherings. What do we mean by "Teamwork"?

2014 200

Breaking out from ‘Enforced Independence’ – #rhizo14

Jenny Connected

Any attempt to do this would be to consolidate the teacher’s position as based on a whole set of power structures, further creating a reliance on the teacher for setting objectives, assessing progress and giving direction.

2014 182

Social Physics: Oxymoron or Big 'Social' Data Tipping Point?

Governance in a Networked World

An early critic of Social Physics is none other than Nicholas Carr, who famously stated a decade ago that “IT Doesn’t Matter”; has written an article in the MIT Technology Review (to add insult to injury). I’ve long been a fan of Sandy Pentland’s work at the MIT media lab.

2014 158

Making sure your research doesn’t sit on the shelf: my recent experience in South Asia

Michelle Laurie

Our internal K-Hub journey started with a capacity assessment, followed by a group training on how to influence policy and practice for researchers. We have two to three years… NOTE: In developing the methodology, I reviewed numerous resources on line.

2014 130

Making sure your research doesn’t sit on the shelf: my recent experience in South Asia

Michelle Laurie

Our internal K-Hub journey started with a capacity assessment, followed by a group training on how to influence policy and practice for researchers. We have two to three years… NOTE: In developing the methodology, I reviewed numerous resources on line.

2014 130

Digital Workplace Trends 2013 - and Participation Opportunity for 2014

Michael Sampson - Currents

In the busyness of my research, travels, and consulting in recent years, I have struggled to find enough time to read and review the great work my colleagues are doing around the world in areas adjacent to my own. I have quite a backlog of articles, reports, and books to read / review / comment on, and one such item is the Digital Workplace Trends survey and report by Jane McConnell. And in the meantime, buy a copy of the report for 2014 to get you into the right frame of reference.

2013 125

Requiem for a Species

How to Save the World

This is no longer an expectation of what might happen if we do not act soon; this will happen, even if the most optimistic assessment of how the world might respond to the climate disruption is validated. conception of post-civilization all-weather wear by mary mattingly.

2014 101

Badges are not sufficient

Jenny Connected

My blog reminded me that I travelled to Greenwich in 2014 to hear Stephen give this keynote. Stephen’s vision is that in the future assessment will be based not on what you ‘know’ but on what you ‘do’ – what you do on the public internet.

2018 139

Knoco stories: When communities of practice are not the answer

John Tropea - Delicious Community

Wednesday, 8 January 2014. After Action Review. (19). KM assessment. (7). skip to main | skip to sidebar. Knoco stories. From the knowledge management front-line. When communities of practice are not the answer.

2014 63

Education Technology Action Group consultation

SocialTech

Recent DigiLit Leicester research (from 2013 , and the soon to be released 2014 findings) indicate that while the majority of secondary school staff are highly confident in their use of technology, over 20% of staff working with learners are not confident about employing technologies to support key areas of practice. The call has expressed a preference for ‘short and terse’ responses, which the Action Group will review, and fashion into tempting recommendations.

Knoco stories: Why Communities of Practice die young

John Tropea - Delicious Community

After Action Review. (19). KM assessment. (7). skip to main | skip to sidebar. Knoco stories. From the knowledge management front-line. Thursday, 31 October 2013. Why Communities of Practice die young.

2014 53

Knoco stories: The "I am." test for Communities of Practice

John Tropea - Delicious Community

After Action Review. (19). KM assessment. (7). skip to main | skip to sidebar. Knoco stories. From the knowledge management front-line. Monday, 25 July 2011. The "I am." test for Communities of Practice. There is a fairly simple test for knowing whether.

2014 46

Education Technology Action Group consultation

SocialTech

Recent DigiLit Leicester research (from 2013 , and the soon to be released 2014 findings) indicate that while the majority of secondary school staff are highly confident in their use of technology, over 20% of staff working with learners are not confident about employing technologies to support key areas of practice. The call has expressed a preference for ‘short and terse’ responses, which the Action Group will review, and fashion into tempting recommendations.

Are You Solving the Right Problem?

Partnering Resources

Assess Your Problem, Find Your Tool. Our new infographic, What’s Your Problem , helps you assess your problem and choose the right tool for the job. Complex Change: An Emerging Field,” Waddell, 2014. Problems come in many shapes and sizes.

2016 130

Growing body of research into MOOCs

Jenny Connected

Another special issue this summer came from the Research and Practice in Assessment Journal – MOOCs and Technology. There has been a call for papers on MOOCs for the EMOOCS2014 conferenc e in Switzerland in February … … and a similar call from the journal Distance Education for a special issue to be published in April 2014. The International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning often publishes papers on MOOCs.

2013 180